Indian Government extends E-visa facility to 150 countries


The Indian home ministry made an announcement to extent the e-tourist visa scheme to 37 more countries making the total number of countries to 150.

With extending the e-visa facility to 150 countries, Indian government is expecting more than 10 lakh foreigners to avail the scheme. The new additions to the list of countries are Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Under the e-tourist visa scheme, the applicant receives the authorization through e-mail which enables the applicant to travel to India with the print out of this authorization letter. On arriving to the country, the applicant needs to show the authorization letter to the immigration authorities followed by which a stamp will be imposed showing the applicants entry into the country. Till now, 16 Indian airports have been designated to provide e-tourist visa service to the foreign travelers. Launched on November 27, 2014, around 7.50 lakh e-tourist visas have been issued till now and on an average, 3,500 e-tourist visas are issued on daily basis.

As per records, UK accounted for 23.93% share of availing e-tourist visa followed by US for 16.33%, Russian Federation for 8.17%, France for 7.64% and so on.